Saturday, August 25, 2007

Samadhi and Self Realisation Final State of Yoga

The eighth and final stage of Yoga is Samadhi. At this stage, one’s identity becomes both externally and internally immersed in meditation. The meditator, the act of meditation, and the object meditated upon, all the three shed their individual characteristics and merge with one single vision of the entire cosmos. Supreme happiness, free from pleasure, pain or misery, is experienced. Samadhi is the climax of Dhyana.

The group of Dharana, Dhyana and Samadhi is called ‘Samyama’ (the Internal Yoga) in the Science of Yoga. The first five stages-Yama, Niyama, Asana, Pranayama and Pratyahara-constitute the External Yoga. If all these eight stages are practiced and followed in life, virtues like morality, morally sound conduct and good character are developed in man. Besides, there is an all-round progress in human life, physically, intellectually and spiritually and man attains physical fitness and mental equanimity.

Thus, asanas are only one of the stages of Yoga. Most of the aspirants practicing Yoga practice, in fact, these asanas. However, all the eight stages of Yoga are of importance. The practice of all the stages together and Pranayama bring a good deal of permanent benefits.

Friday, August 3, 2007

Types of Yoga for Discipline

Asana (Postures)

Asana means holding the body in a particular posture to bring stability to the body and poise to the mind. The practice of Asana brings purity in tubular channels, firmness to the body and vitality to the body and the mind. There are many Asanas, but keeping in view a common man’s health, 65 Asanas have been presented and explained in this book.

Pranayama (Breath Control)

The literal meaning of Pranayama is Breath Control. The aim of practicing pranayama is to stimulate, regulate and harmonize vital energy of the body. Just as a bath is required for purifying the body, so also is Pranayama required for purifying the mind.

Pratyahara (Discipline of the Senses)

The extra version of the sense organs due to their hankering after worldly objects has to be restrained and directed inwards towards the source of all existence. This process of drawing the sense inwards is Pratyahara or putting the sense under restraint.

Dharana (Concentration)

Dharana (Concentration) means focusing the pure mind on one’s personal deity or on the Individual Self. The practice of Dharana helps the mind to concentrate on a particular object.

Dhyana (Meditation)

When one sustains and maintains the focus of attention through Dharana unbound by time and space, it becomes Dhyana (meditation). Deep concentration destroys the Rajas and Tamas Gunas of the mind and develops the Satvika Gunas (qualities).


Diabetic Recipes| Arthritis Tips| Meditation Tips