Friday, August 3, 2007

Types of Yoga for Discipline

Asana (Postures)

Asana means holding the body in a particular posture to bring stability to the body and poise to the mind. The practice of Asana brings purity in tubular channels, firmness to the body and vitality to the body and the mind. There are many Asanas, but keeping in view a common man’s health, 65 Asanas have been presented and explained in this book.

Pranayama (Breath Control)

The literal meaning of Pranayama is Breath Control. The aim of practicing pranayama is to stimulate, regulate and harmonize vital energy of the body. Just as a bath is required for purifying the body, so also is Pranayama required for purifying the mind.

Pratyahara (Discipline of the Senses)

The extra version of the sense organs due to their hankering after worldly objects has to be restrained and directed inwards towards the source of all existence. This process of drawing the sense inwards is Pratyahara or putting the sense under restraint.

Dharana (Concentration)

Dharana (Concentration) means focusing the pure mind on one’s personal deity or on the Individual Self. The practice of Dharana helps the mind to concentrate on a particular object.

Dhyana (Meditation)

When one sustains and maintains the focus of attention through Dharana unbound by time and space, it becomes Dhyana (meditation). Deep concentration destroys the Rajas and Tamas Gunas of the mind and develops the Satvika Gunas (qualities).

No comments:


Diabetic Recipes| Arthritis Tips| Meditation Tips