Tuesday, July 17, 2007

Yoga for Individual Decipline

Niyama (Individual Discipline)

Rules of conduct towards oneself consist of certain disciplines which are both physical and mental. These are five in number- Cleanliness (Shaucha), Contentment (Santosha), Austerity (Tapas), Seif-shidy (Svadhyaya) and Surrender to God (Ishvara Pranidhana).

Cleanliness (Shauch) means internal and external purification of the body and the mind.

Contentment (Santosha) is a state of mind by which one lives happily and satisfied in congenial or uncongenial atmosphere.

Austerity or penance (Tapas) is the conquest of all desires or sensual pleasures by practicing purity in thought, speech and action.

Self-study (Svadhyaya) means exchange of thoughts in order to secure purity in thought and accomplish knowledge.

Surrender to God (Ishvara Pranidhana): It consists of pure devotion to God and surrender of all actions to I-Tim.

No comments:


Diabetic Recipes| Arthritis Tips| Meditation Tips