Wednesday, June 27, 2007

Yoga Yama as Social Discipline

The word ‘yoga’ is derived from the Sanskrit root ‘yuj’ (meaning to bind the yoke. It is the true union of our will with the will of God.

Our ancient sages have suggested eight stages of ‘yoga’ to secure purity of body, mind and soul. They are Yama, Niyama, Asana, Pranayama, Pratyahara, Dharana, Dhyana and Samadhi. The brief explanation to these eight stages has been given below

Yama (Social Discipline)

Yama means restraint or abstention. It contains five moral practices. They are
Non-violence (Ahimsa), Truthfulness (Satya), Non-stealing (Asteya), Celibacy (Brahmacharya) and Non-acquisitiveness (Aparigraha).

Non-violence (Ahimsa) means not to hurt any creature mentally or physically through mind, speech or action. Truthfulness (Satya) is the presentation of a matter as perceived with the help of sense organs.

Non-stealing (Asteya) means not to covet and acquire physically, mentally or by speech others’ possessions.

Celibacy -Moderation in sex (Brahmacharya): Brahmacharya does not mean lifelong celibacy, but moderation in sex between married couples.

Non-acquisitiveness (Aparigraha) means abandoning wealth and means of sensual pleasures.

No comments:


Diabetic Recipes| Arthritis Tips| Meditation Tips